The recipients will be accepting their awards on Friday, September 18 from 2:15–2:40pm

Carolinas Scholarship

Ciara Sailar, Appalachian State University

Established in 2015 with a gift from the Carolinas Chapter, this scholarship supports geologic studies by undergraduate students enrolled in a geology or geoscience program at an accredited university in North Carolina or South Carolina.

Marliave Scholarship

Spencer Whitman, University of Nevada Reno

The Marliave Scholarship Fund was established in 1968 to honor the late Chester E. Marliave, Burton H. Marliave, and Elmer C. Marliave, outstanding engineering geologists and supporters of AEG. The funds are distributed as grants, which are intended to support academic activity and reward out- standing scholarship in Engineering Geology and Geological Engineering.

Susan Steele Weir (Women of “Steele”) Scholarship

Catherine Hobart, Baylor University

The Susan Steele Weir Scholarship Fund was established by the AEG Foundation in 2017 in order to create a scholarship fund that promotes and supports the continued development and advancement of women in the profession of engineering geology.

Christopher C. Mathewson Scholarship

Graduate Division

Ashley Aguilar, University of Texas at San Antonio and Emma Fuentes, Angelo State University

Established in 2007 as the Texas Section Scholarship, the Scholarship was renamed in 2011 to honor Dr. Christopher
C. Mathewson. Recipients of the scholarship are undergraduate or graduate students enrolled in an accredited Texas college or university, or graduate students conducting field studies in Texas.

Shlemon Quaternary Engineering Geology Scholarship

James Fisher, Lehigh University

The Shlemon Quaternary Engineering Geology Scholarship supports grad- uate geology students conducting Quaternary engineering geology research. Initial funding for the Scholar- ship was provided by a gift from Roy J. Shlemon, Honorary Member of the AEG.

Robert J. Watters Great Basin Chapter Scholarship

Kathleen Rodrigues, University of Nevada, Reno

The Robert J. Watters Great Basin Chapter Scholarship Fund supports geoscience studies by students at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Martin L. Stout Scholarship

Undergraduate Division

Emma Palko, Miami University and Ramon Antonio Richardson, Mississippi State University

Graduate Division

Tomsen Reed, Utah State University and Edward Fordham, Western Washington University

Dr. Martin L. Stout was Professor of Geology at California State University, Los Angeles from 1960 to 1990. He is remembered by his students for his passionate and insightful instruction in engineering geology. Dr. Stout was known for his expertise on landslides, his travels, his good humor, and his gracious manner. This scholarship supports his legacy.

Norman R. Tilford Field Study Scholarship

Undergraduate Division - Angelina Han, Amherst College

Graduate Division - Lauren Herbert, Colorado School of Mines and Chad Neptune, California State University, Fresno

Post-Graduate Division - Mariliis Eensalu, Northern Illinois University

The Tilford Scholarships are awarded to both undergraduate and graduate students for the summer field season, and were established in memory of Norman R. Tilford, who was a leader in engineering geology and a professor at Texas A&M University. Norm died in 1997 while flying his small aircraft to meet a student field trip. Norm was dedicated to teaching geology in the field and these scholarships support his legacy.

West-Gray Scholarship

Undergraduate Division - Katrina Ferry, University of Kansas

Post-Graduate Division - Samantha Tramontano, City University of New York – The Graduate Center, Queens College

Established in 2014 with initial funding provided as a gift from AEG Past Presidents Terry R. West and Richard E. Gray, this fund supports undergraduate and graduate geology students studying in the eastern half of the United States.

This year, our silent auction is virtual as well. Anna Saindon has generously donated three of her original paintings, and you can bid on them at The auction is open until Sunday, 9/20/20 at 12AM Pacific/3AM Eastern. 


Course Details

© Copyright 2021 | Terms | Privacy | MC LMS, Inc. | Designed by Boldare